SHE’S WAITING

Under the heavy sea lies the ocean floor, but what waits beneath?  The sandy rock shakes as dark laughter bubbles out of me.  I have been down here, biding my time, waiting for the right time to return to wreak havoc upon the Earth.  All who have harmed me I will drown, I will burn, I will pound to death.  My mercy, forgotten time after époque after era, has morphed into rage.  The Earth will be wiped clean of the Humans.  The trees, birds, animals and insects shall rise.  I, Mother Earth, have decreed it so.

 

I’m experimenting with malevolence and characters who have become changed and embittered by their negative experiences, rather than the idealistic – and unrealistic – big-hearted overcomers we all like to hear about.  Mother Earth seems to be a good character to start with.

About catherinehume

Catherine Hume: Writer, social care worker and a liver of a life less ordinary.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

